Motherhood · Parenthood

Back to work???

Sometimes I miss working sooo much. I miss socializing and eating lunch without assisting my tiny human with eating his lunch. I also miss what i did for a living (orthodontic assistant) The other day my friend sent me a Craigslist posting for an Ortho assistant that was basically too good to be true. It’s 3 days a week, offers full benefits, vacation, and holiday pay, and pays the amount I planned on asking for when/if I returned to work. I talked it out with Thomas and we both decided I should send in my resume and see what happens.

They asked me to come in for an interview. (insert crazy nervousness/excitement) I’m terrified to go back to work. Not because I feel like I forgot how to do my job, but because I’ll have to take Anthony to Daycare…. with people I don’t know… for three full days. My poor baby! How will he take naps? He still nurses to sleep for naps and bedtime. What will he do when he gets hurt and his mama or daddy aren’t there to comfort him? I know (and hope) the people at the daycare can comfort him and make him feel better, but it makes me feel SO guilty.

This is still all up in the air, I don’t even have an interview set yet (I’m waiting for them to email me back with the day and time) but I can’t stop thinking about it. I’m hoping I can go in tomorrow to get it over with to see if this is even an office I would want to work in. Who knows, I may get a weird vibe from these people or not click at all. We’ll see. If it does turn into something, I also hope they will work with me and allow me time to set up child care for Anthony. I don’t want to take him to just any place. I want to find the right place that works best for our family.

Oh my goodness.

Does anyone out there have any information on how to transition back into work? I’ve been home for 15 months now, and just don’t know how to make it easiest on all of us.

Leave a Reply

