Motherhood

Finding Patience

I’m not entirely sure where my sweet relaxed baby went, but yesterday he was gone. Instead I had an extra clingy little man that cried over everything. I’m sure it’s all a phase and that he’s going through a growth spurt, or teething, or SOMETHING, but he needs to chill. Every time I sat him down he would cry. I’d tell him to please shut the kitchen cupboard and he cried. It was rough. He didn’t fall asleep until 12:30am either. He seemed delirious because he was so tired. I’d start nursing him, he’d pop off and start dancing, then just cry. It was awful. We both ended up on his bedroom floor crying. Once he realized I was crying too, he got all up in my face and rubbed my cheeks and hair the way I do to him when I’m trying to get him to settle down. It was the sweetest thing, so instead of crying out of frustration/exhaustion I was crying because of all the love I felt. We were a mess last night.

Today started off pretty well until we finished breakfast, then the melt downs started again. My poor boy! I’m usually so good about keeping my cool and calmly talking him down when he’s upset, but today I snapped and yelled for him to stop crying. I immediately felt so bad and have no idea where it came from. So I scooped him up, hugged him and apologized for getting upset with him. Oh man, that mom guilt is real. Luckily he fell asleep nursing shortly after that, so I’m taking this time to just sit and write out my feelings while he takes a nap. We’re going to get out of the house once he wakes up. I have a dress to return at Target and might even take him to the park if the rain decides to stay away.

Do you have any tips on keeping calm while your kids are constantly upset? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

3 thoughts on “Finding Patience

  1. Don’t feel guilt. Children need to see that outbursts and frustration are normal. We are their guide to what is ok. If he never sees you upset he may begin to think it’s not normal to have those feelings. I used to think that I wanted my girls to think I was perfect, super mom. But I realized that it was worse for them to view me that way. Because they began to feel inadequate for feeling angry, upset or sad. We are all human!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How old is your LO? My 2.5 YO has really tested me over the years and sometimes I need to just walk away and take a breather. Sounds like yours is a bit younger so it can be hard to figure out the best approach – some need some space while others need cuddles. It’s really just a guessing game and what works one day may not work the next. Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

