coffee · Recipes

How to make a latte using an AeroPress coffee maker

I have been using an AeroPress for about five years now, and will never go back to a regular ‘ol coffee maker. I have even perfected my own version of a latte that I make pretty much on the daily. It’s so easy to do, and will save you $5 a day if you’re the type to buy coffee each day. I’m going to share how to make a latte using your AeroPress. I hope you all enjoy this as much as I do.

For starters, you’ll need an AeroPress and a small glass french press or Milk Frother. You will also need a tea kettle or pot so you can boil the water for your coffee. We got our french press from Home Goods, and I know that Ikea sells milk frothers for pretty cheap.

 

 

I always start my coffee making process by turning on the tea kettle so the water will be boiled by the time I have prepared everything.

I always use two scoops of coffee beans using the scoop that came with the Aeropress. Make sure if you are grinding your own beans that you grind it on the “fine” setting.

dscf73861

Next, put your filter into the filter cap and scoop beans into the main coffee chamber of the AeroPress.

AeroPress-coffee-maker.JPGOnce the water has boiled, add it to the plunger. I usually fill the water up to the number that matches the amount of scoops I used for the coffee beans. In this case, I fill the water to the number 2, then pour the water over the coffee. I let that sit for a couple seconds until the coffee “blossoms” it will look fluffy, then I gently stir it for about 30 seconds.

How-to-use-AeroPress-coffee-maker

After stirring, take the plunger and press it into the main coffee chamber and slowly press down until it can’t go any further. Now you’ll have a nice thick espresso in the bottom of your mug. This is when I add the creamer. You can use any kind that you like, or syrups, which ever you prefer. I just add the creamer to taste, it’s usually slightly sweet before I add more water into the mug. Add a small amount of water, make sure you leave enough room for your frothed milk.

DSCF7414[1].JPG

Next, I place about 1/3 cup milk into my french press and place just the glass part into the microwave. Make sure you do not put any metal into the microwave. I heat the milk for about one minute, or until I see it starting to rise to the top of the french press. Be careful, if you put it in for too long, there will be a milk explosion all over the inside of the microwave ( I know from experience). Once you take the heated milk out, place it into the stand for the french press (or use your milk frother) and start to slowly pump the press. The milk starts frothing pretty quickly. I do this until the milk feels thick, probably around 30-40 seconds.

DSCF7418[1].JPG

Next, pour the milk into your mug, and ENJOY!

dscf74281

The steps might sound like a lot, but it’s actually quicker to do than it seems, and totally worth it. Like I said, I make this pretty much every day and wouldn’t if it was too time consuming. Please let me know if you try this or if you have any questions about it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

