breastfeeding · Motherhood · Parenthood

Midnight Bedtime

The last two nights have been awful for bed time. Anthony will fall asleep nursing, I’ll put him in the crib and the minute I walk out of his room, he screams. What. The. Heck. I always knew eventually bed time would turn into a huge ordeal, just didn’t expect it to happen out of nowhere. I’m not sure what to do.

We don’t have too much of a routine.. usually we watch for cues that Anthony is getting sleepy like rubbing his eyes or yawning. Thomas always gets Anthony ready for bed. He turns his pink noise and salt lamp on in his room, then we say goodnight and I take Anthony into his room and he nurses to sleep. It usually takes about 30-45 minutes. Once he’s asleep I’ll lay him in bed, cover him over and turn the salt lamp off. For the most part he sleeps through the night (thankfully) But the last two nights have been awful! I’m not sure why he doesn’t want to sleep, but it’s making me crazy. I feel so guilty because by the end of the day I’m ready to have a break and alone time with Thomas, so having Anthony go to bed at midnight is not ok.

I think today I’m going to try getting him to take an earlier nap and then try to stick with that same time each day. His naps usually vary quite a bit, so maybe that will help in the long run. He ended up waking up at 3:30am this morning crying so I went in there and was able to just cuddle him back to sleep. I think he may be going through a growth spurt or starting to get more teeth, but UGH. I would just like him to go to bed earlier.

I guess we’ll see what tonight has in store for us.

dscf73361

Leave a Reply

