Money Saving · Motherhood · Parenthood

How I Became A Stay At Home Mom

I think most of you guys know that I’m a stay at home mom. I honestly never really thought I would actually be able to stay at home with my sweet boy. When I was pregnant I started doing all kinds of research on daycare, hiring a nanny, or taking Anthony to a sitter. None of it felt right. Before I even met my baby I know that I wouldn’t be able to leave him with a stranger. When I was pregnant we still didn’t have any family that lived out here. I had no idea what to do. Thomas and I would both sit down to see what our options were, get so stressed out, and just stopped looking all together. By the time I went on Maternity leave, which was just two weeks before Anthony was born we decided that I might have to go back part time, but that I would probably not go back to my current job because it involved traveling to different offices, and it would be way too difficult to find a day care that worked best for our commutes.

I kept doing research and liked the idea of having a nanny come into our house to be with Anthony so that I didn’t take him away from home. The problem with this? To get an experienced nanny, we would be paying them what I was making. I’d probably make a grand total of $2 an hour after we paid for gas. Sure, I could have chosen someone that wanted $10 an hour, but they wouldn’t have experience, and I wanted someone I could totally trust with my newborn. After looking at that, the answer was obvious, I would stay home with our boy.

It was hard for me to adjust at first. We made this final decision when Anthony was two months old. I let my boss know a month before I was due back that I would not be returning. The hardest part for me was not making money to contribute to our bills. It was SOOOO hard for me. I felt guilty every time I spent money, even if it was on a $3 coffee somewhere. I was making pretty good money before I stopped working, and was used to being able to go out and spend $5 on a coffee every day if I wanted. I was used to walking into a store seeing something I liked, and buying it without thinking too much about it.

For those of you that don’t know, I have always loved saving money! I like to coupon, and do anything I can to save when I go to the store. I decided I would get back into all of that like I used to so we could save money. My two favorite apps I use to save money are Ibotta and Checkout 51. I have saved soooo much money using these apps! Last year I had $75 just in my Ibotta account that I was able to use to buy Thomas Christmas gifts. Then again this Father’s day I was able to spend another $40 on him. I don’t like the idea of spending my “husband’s” money on gifts for him. I feel like it’s unfair to him to go spend his own money on gifts that go to him (even though we consider all the money both of ours). I might be alone in this, and that is totally fine, but I like buying him things with money I have earned in some way.

ibotta. Receive $10 for your first rebate submitted, I’ll receive $5

If you have any questions about ibotta, I will be happy to help you with it! It’s really simple to use, and guides you step by step on how to redeem the rebates. Just make sure you keep all your receipts.

So, I coupon and cloth diaper as much as possible, which helps me feel like I’m contributing to the bills in some way. I even started shopping at Grocery Outlet before going to other grocery stores, because the prices are amazing!

 

Leave a Reply

