Motherhood · Traveling

New York Trip

Our trip to New York was great! I’m so glad we had the opportunity to go. I have always wanted to visit, but never thought we actually would, unless it was years down the road.

Our flight there ended up being perfect! I was nervous as you know from my post before we left. We got to the airport and asked if our flight had any available seats that we could use to bring the car seat aboard, and to our surprise they said yes! The attendant at the gate was amazing and was able to switch our seats around so that we had a whole row to ourselves, which meant Anthony got his own seat for free! It worked out SO well. Anthony fell asleep, I got to put him in the car seat and relax while drinking some coffee (which was gross, but still!) while he was awake we kept him entertained with toys and snacks


We met mom mom at the airport since her flight got in just 20 minutes after us, it was perfect timing. We stayed at the Residence Inn Times Square which was pretty nice! We had a decent view from the hotel room, but I never did take a picture.

From Sunday-Tuesday Thomas had to do stuff for his conference and meet up with his colleagues, so Anthony and I spent our time with my mom. It was a really good time. It’s been a long time since I have spent so much one on one time with her. We literally walked all over the place. By Monday evening we had basically seen everything that was on our list in the Midtown area.  We even hitched a ride from a pedi-cab in Central Park which was so much fun!

Central Park

My mom had a huge list of places to see, which was great because I left my list at home on the kitchen counter, oops!

St. Patrick’s Cathedral


The cathedral was beautiful! I don’t think I have ever seen anything like it in person. When we first walked in a service was in progress and the organ was being played, which was incredible sounding. It felt like something from a movie.


I’m so thankful for baby wearing and having my Tula on hand! Anthony was a little trooper during our 7 mile adventure on Monday!

On Tuesday We decided to take things a little slower since the previous day was a nonstop tourist adventure. Our hotel was in walking distance to pretty much everything, so we decided to see the Empire State Building, the Chrysler Building, and Grand Central Station.

The Empire State Building
The Chrysler Building
Grand Central Station
Grand Central Station

Grand Central was one of my favorite places we went into. I never even knew it was so amazing inside!


Again, very thankful for my Tula! We walked 5 miles this day, so much for taking it slow, huh?!

Wednesday was the first day we had Thomas all to ourselves! I was so excited to have him included in the adventuring! We decided to get up early and make a day out of seeing The Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and the 9/11 Memorial and Museum. We even took the Subway! I was excited about this.

New York Subway

It was such a good day! We took a cruise boat to Liberty Island (highlight of the trip for me!) the view of Manhattan was incredible. Seeing the Statue of Liberty in person was soooooo amazing! It almost felt like a dream. She’s HUGE!!! We wandered around there for a bit taking pictures, then went to Ellis Island and looked at the exhibits before catching the next boat back to the city.

Manhattan

DSCF6898[1].JPG

DSCF6931[1].JPG

DSCF6941[1].JPG
The only picture we got together, and it’s blurry. Boo!
DSCF6951[1].JPG
Anthony was SO happy we found a patch of grass for him to crawl around on.
DSCF6965[1].JPG
Building on Ellis Island


We had a quick lunch, then headed to the 9/11 museum. Oh, my gosh. I’m so glad we went to this. I really enjoyed being there and felt like the whole setup was perfect. Some parts made me emotional, which is to be expected. We could have spent all day there but we got there late and eventually had people coming around saying it would be closing soon, so we didn’t get to look as closely to the end of the exhibit.

9/11 Memorial Pools Of Reflection

Thursday my mom had to leave for the airport around 11, so it was just Thomas, Anthony and myself left to explore. We went to Top of The Rock which allowed us to see a 360 degree view of the city. Wow! I knew New York City was big, but I didn’t realize how big until we got up there and could see for miles! We were up there for about an hour before heading down to get lunch. We got pizza, which was a must on my list.

dscf70091

dscf70161

 

Then we had some time to kill before getting to the airport to head home. We basically just wandered around for 2 hours.

Overall the trip was perfect. The weather couldn’t have been any better if we wanted it to be. We never got hot, and were only chilly for a little bit one of the days. I’m soooo thankful we were able to go and so glad my mom could come to explore with me while Thomas was working. I hope we can have more trips like this in the future!

dscf70211

4 thoughts on “New York Trip

Leave a Reply

