breastfeeding · Motherhood · Parenthood

When/How To Wean Baby

My son turns 1 in two days. TWO days. I don’t know where the time went! He should only be 6 months old, max! I guess that’s just life though. It seems so go so much quicker when you are watching a little person grow. 
Anyways, I want to talk about weaning! Anthony is exclusively breastfed. He LOVES his milk. There are some days when I want to nurse him forever because I love it. I love the snuggles, the smell of his sweet head, the way my lips feel on his for head when I kiss him while he’s nursing, and those sweet baby sounds when he’s gulping the milk. Then there are days when I just feel done. He has teeth now and bit me pretty hard the other day, and it hurt for 3 days. I was DONE that day. Of course I pushed through and kept nursing him though, because he loves it, and needs it.
So, the big question, when do I wean him?! I’m not really up for doing it cold turkey unless I have a legit reason. I know if I do it that way it will break both of our hearts. I’m hoping to just slowly wean. He doesn’t nurse as often anymore (luckily) yesterday he only nursed three times during the day and once in the middle of the night. The night feedings are going to be the hardest for us. I have NO idea how I’m going to get this boy to sleep without giving him a boob! He’ll fall asleep when I’m gone but usually in his swing. He has never been rocked to sleep either. It’s going to be so tricky. I don’t even know what it’s like to just lay him down on his crib awake and have him fall asleep on his own. He just doesn’t do that…
If any of you have any suggestions/ideas for me, I’d love to hear them! I’d like to hear how your weaning experience went as well.

5 thoughts on “When/How To Wean Baby

    1. Good thinkin! My son usually sleeps through the night, luckily! I’m just not sure how I’d get him to go to bed in the first place haha. I’m HOPING he’ll end up being a fan of the rocking chair we have and might just need to move it into his bedroom

      Like

  1. When he’s eating solids you can start by feeding him solids before your bed time routine( that way he’ll be a little more full) and then breastfeed until right before he falls asleep and lay him in his crib. This seems to be the easiest way to teach a child to fall asleep on their own(to start when they are literally going to pass out, and slowly put more time inbetween it) that way he gets use to it slowly. Bedtime feedings are usually the last to go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

