Motherhood · Parenthood

Cutting Date Night Short

Thomas and I got to see Thrice last night! It has been 4 years since we saw them play. Time sure does fly! The show was at The Crystal Ballroom which is one of my favorite venues in Portland. It’s BEAUTIFUL! It’s in a 100 year old building that used to be an actual ballroom. There are murals painted on the wall, crazy detailed pillars, carvings on the ceiling and creepy faces looking down at you. It’s so amazing! 


Also, there are a couple of crystal chandeliers hanging from the ceiling.

Thrice put on an amazing show! I don’t think I have mentioned how much I love music? Well, I do! I love music that I can feel in my bones. Thrice does that for me. I can listen to them and just feel so connected to what they are singing about… So much in fact that I get teary because I feel it SO much in my soul. They have amazing lyrics. I kind of come up with my own meanings to the songs that relate to my life, as I’m sure most people do. 

I keep swinging my hand through a swarm of bees ’cause I… I want honey on my table, but I never get it right .. No I never get it right

I keep swinging my hand through a swarm of bees, I can’t understand why they’re stinging me, but I’ll do what I want, I’ll do what I please, I’ll do it again ’till I got what I need

I’ll rip and smash through the hornet’s nest, don’t they understand I deserve the best?

-Black Honey

‘Cause a ring don’t mean nothing if you can’t haul the weight

And some of them won’t even try,

But I won’t leave you high and dry.

I won’t leave you wondering why.
And come what may, I won’t abandon you or leave you behind,
Because love is a loyalty sworn, not a burning for a moment

-The Weight

These are two of my favorite songs that they played! During a slower song that I didn’t know I felt my phone vibrate, and it was Alyssa who was babysitting for us. She said Anthony was very distraught and had been crying for a good 45 minutes and she wanted to let us know, so we decided to head home! I was a little sad we had to go, but it was perfect timing since the show was coming close to ending anyways. Luckily we were only 20 minutes away which makes it better. So we get in the door and I expected a screaming baby, but it just so happens that our sweet boy finally relaxed and fell asleep! We walked into him passed out asleep on Alyssa. 


THE LOVE!!!

Being a parent can be really hard sometimes! Even if you get some “freedom” from the baby, there is always a chance you have to cut it short. His needs will always come before ours. We had a great time out together, and it’s ok that we had to cut it short. Our baby needed us. Of course I’m sad we didn’t get to finish the show, but I’m thankful for the couple hours we had just the two of us! Also, I’m extremely grateful to have such an amazing friend that we trust enough to watch our baby. 

Leave a Reply

