Cooking · Recipes

Hello Fresh Review (Part 1)

I was recently introduced to Hello Fresh by my sister in-law. For those of you that don’t know what it is, it’s a service that ships fresh ingredients right to your door! The recipes are chosen for you and everything you need to make the meals comes in the package. It was like Christmas when my first box arrived! I couldn’t wait to open it and see what this was all about.

dscf62501

Hello Fresh allows you to choose multiple plans based on your families needs, they even have a vegetarian option. You can choose to have 3, 4, or 5 meals delivered each week. We went with 3 meals for our first time, because we play it safe. Another great thing about this service is you can pause your account at anytime. So, if you’re going to be out of town for a while, or just don’t feel like doing it, you can pause the orders until you’re ready to have them delivered again. I love this! I think it’s great that there is no contract, I usually have commitment issues when it comes to things like this.

If you’re anything like me, you probably hate grocery shopping. It’s literally my least favorite thing to do as an adult (besides dishes). So, getting food delivered right to your door that includes everything you need to make amazing dishes is perfect for me. I didn’t have to write a list, sit down and plan what we were eating each day, or go to the grocery store. AMAZING!

Before I begin my review, I would like to say that this post is not sponsored by Hello Fresh. I just felt like documenting my experience and sharing it with others. I’ll be sharing my initial feelings and one of the meals I made. I’ll post the other recipes separately, as I have not made all of them yet.

However, if you decide to try it for yourself I will post my referral link below which will give you $40 off your first box and will give me a credit towards my next purchase with Hello Fresh. (help a sister out!)

dscf62521
Recipe book, coupons, and how to tell if your avocados are ripe

As you can see, Anthony was also excited to see what was in this magical box that appeared at our doorstep! Even the dog ran up to the box to see what was happening! My first impression was that there was a lot of packaging. There was foam to keep the boxes from getting squished, cardboard separating the refrigerated items from the boxed items, and 2 ice packs keeping the meats cold. We finished unpacking everything and I laid it all out on the counter. All the meals come in separate boxes, which makes it even easier! It’s all clearly labeled too.

How cool is this!? The meats were separated in the box, but they are clearly labeled so you know what it is. It even fit perfectly on the bottom shelf of our fridge.

dscf62621

The first night I made the Caramelized Pineapple Burgers. The recipe was very easy to follow and it even gave recommended cooking times for the burger (rare-well done) which I really liked, because I have failed at cooking burgers too many times! Most meals say it takes about 10 min of prep work and 20 minutes cooking time. I’m a slow cook though… I read and reread the recipe at least 5 times because I want to make sure I’m doing everything correctly. It probably took me 45 minutes to complete. Besides the burger, there was also a recipe for red cabbage slaw. In the box was a little bottle of white wine vinegar and small jar mayonnaise, I feel like this was also extra waste, but the bottle/jar might be recyclable? I have to check!

Now, I will show you my finished product along with what we liked/disliked about the meal.

dscf62771

Guys, this burger was probably one of the best things I have ever made! It was delicious and I cooked it perfectly because of the suggested cooking times included in the recipe. We even loved the slaw! My husband and I usually hate any type of slaw, but this was very tasty. We were very full when we were finished eating and even had some extra slaw left over.

One thing we both said we would change was using one huge slice of fresh grilled pineapple instead of the little fruit cup pineapple that was provided. I think that was literally the only thing we would have changed. I could taste the pineapple, but it wasn’t as strong as I was hoping for. Other than that, I’d say we give this recipe a 9/10 rating! Absolutely loved it and would definitely want to make it again.

For those of you that are interested in trying Hello Fresh for yourselves, here is a referral link for you to follow! If you follow the link provided, you will receive $40 off of your first order! So, why not check it out?! So far, we are very happy that we decided to try this! I can’t wait to share the other meals with you.

Click Here To Join Hello Fresh, Save $40

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hello Fresh Review (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

