Parenthood · Traveling

Visiting Mount St. Helens

My parents and brother came into town on the 20th and are staying out here until this coming Saturday. It’s always so nice when they’re out here and we get to show them all the amazing places we have by us. We have talked about going to Mount St Helens with them a couple times, and we finally did!

DSCF6082[1]

Thomas and I had gone once before a few years ago. When we went that time, it was snowing like crazy on the way and the mountain was covered in snow. It was really amazing seeing it this time since it didn’t have snow on it, and we could really see the details of it.

DSCF6094[1]
Sweet Milka Bean
As we walked up to the monument a tour guide had just started giving the history of the volcano and how it erupted. It was perfect timing and really great to hear someone telling the story. Once we listened to that we went inside and watched the video they have of the volcano erupting from the 1980’s.

DSCF6100[1]

For those of you that don’t know me, I’m terrified of volcanoes. I have had nightmares about them ever since I was a kid. I have no idea where this fear stems from, but I will most certainly die in a volcanic eruption (haha) So, being this close to a volcano and actually seeing steam rise from it caused a little anxiety in me. I’m scared of them, (especially when I know they’re active) but also fascinated and want to be close to them. I just can’t help but freak myself out on the inside and think about it randomly erupting.

Anyways, we had a great time and it was a good way to kick off the visit with my family!

One thought on “Visiting Mount St. Helens

Leave a Reply

