Motherhood

Alone Time!

On Sunday I went out with my Portland BFF Alyssa! It was so needed. We don’t get to see each other as much as we would like since she goes to school and works, then has homework on the days she is off.

We planned on meeting around lunch time so we could eat and have some drinks without staying out late. The first stop was Little Big Burger! We used to go there all the time when we first became friends, have beers then get pedicures. So fun! That was obviously pre-baby days. After we ate, we walked around and went into the small shops nearby.

We decided we needed another drink and went to Great Notion Brewery where we got a perfect seat outside in the shade. I got an apricot IPA that was delicious. They also had a creamsicle IPA that literally tasted like a popsicle! We just got a small taster of that. I don’t think I could drink a whole glass, but it was really good!

After that drink, we went to our favorite bar on Alberta called Binks. We like this place because it’s dark, plays loud music, and has this little alcove that we like to sit in that’s kind of separate from the rest of the seating. So, we got another beer and chicken strips while we hung out there. We were in there for a while and had a good time!


Once we were finished in there we decided to go to Salt and Straw for ice cream. Now, I’m not usually a huge fan of this place. It’s suuuuuper popular and I hate waiting in a long line to get ice cream, BUT we were buzzed and needed time to sober up before heading home, PLUS I had a coupon for a buy 1 get 1 free cone! So, we waited in line forever, but it went by pretty quick. They always have seasonal ice creams along with their regular flavors. This month they had delicious carrot cake and chocolate zucchini bread flavors which were both delicious! So, we got our ice cream, walked around a bit more then sat in Alyssa’s car while we finished.


I didn’t end up getting home until around 9, which I didn’t plan. It was so nice being out alone for such a long time though! I’m thankful Thomas loves spending time with Anthony and that he was being good for him as well. I got home just in time to put Anthony to bed, then went to sleep myself.

I definitely wish Thomas and I could get more alone time together but it’s hard since we only have 2 people who have watched Anthony for us. My Parents and brother are coming out for a week starting Saturday and I might see if they will watch Anthony for a couple hours so we can get dinner or something.

Leave a Reply

