Motherhood · Parenthood

I need a hobby

I seem to be in a funk this week. I feel anxious/antsy/bored/useless/irritated. I don’t usually feel this way, but this week I’m craving change. Being a stay at home mom is amazing and I am SO thankful my husband is able to provide for us. I can’t even begin to express the amount of gratitude I have for him. He works so hard for us and I appreciate all he does. Lately though, I feel like I need to be doing more. I don’t know if I’m ready to go back to work, but I need to do SOMETHING.

Thomas has been working more hours the last few weeks, which means more time alone with Anthony. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE spending time with my baby, but eventually the one sided conversations just aren’t enough. Im really looking forward to this weekend. Spending it with Thomas is going to be great, plus I’m having drinks with my best Portland friend on Sunday. Having time alone with a friend where I get to be ME is so needed right now. I’ll have to make a whole separate post about trying to find my new self since becoming a mom. It’s a lot more difficult than I expected it to be, and I’m still trying to figure it all out.

Anyways, I’m having a hard time falling asleep this week, so after laying in bed for an hour trying to sleep I figured I’d ramble out my thoughts and try again.

What do all you stay at home moms do to keep yourselves busy or feeling productive? We go to Book Babies on Friday’s and usually see my sister at least once a week, but I just feel like I need to do more. I want to start making things. I crochet and want to learn how to better use my sewing machine, but I just don’t know where to start.

Leave a Reply

