breastfeeding · Motherhood · Parenthood

Breastfeeding In Public

In honor of World Breastfeeding Week, I’m going to share a few breast feeding stories.

Before giving birth, it seemed like I would always come across an article about someone reacting negatively to a mom who breastfed in public. I eventually realized and noticed how comfortable our city is with breastfeeding/baby wearing/cloth diapering. I am SO thankful for this.

The first time I breastfed in public was at the PDX airport when Anthony was 2 weeks old. This was the first time I had to nurse the baby when there was a bunch of people around. I went to the airport to pick my mom up. I had Anthony in my Lenny Lamb ring sling all snug and cozy, then he needed to nurse. I hadn’t practiced his placement in advance and was so nervous because nursing was still hard and I couldn’t always get him to latch correctly the first try. I sat down in the waiting area in a row of chairs that no one else was sitting in. I loosened the sling like I had read to do, and stuck him on my boob! It actually went really well. I was so worried someone would make a comment to me or make me feel awkward, but it didn’t happen. I nursed my baby, and he was happy!

Check out my exhausted Mom Hair!

When Anthony was 6 weeks old, my younger sister and nephew came to visit. We went out to eat and I had to nurse. I felt a little awkward (still trying to get the hang of things) but I got my baby to latch. While he was nursing, I felt like the guy sitting diagonally across from me was staring. I was terrified to make eye contact. I would have gone beast mode if someone made a negative comment while I fed my baby. He ended up speaking up and had the most amazing things to say. He told me I was doing the right thing, that his wife nursed their babies and that the bond it creates is like nothing else. It was really nice to hear such reassuring words from a complete stranger. I didn’t expect it at all.

I always tried to be very discreet in the beginning when nursing in public, I’d make sure I was facing away from people (if possible), lift my shirt over my boob so the top half of it was covered, or I’d wear a scarf to hide the top half. I won this amazing nursing scarf from Nuroo Baby that I always had on hand. I had even used it as a blanket a couple times.

The NüRoo Nursing Scarf

I never wanted to use a cover. I thought it would draw more attention to me and thought they would be too bulky ,and I honestly hate carrying extra things with me. Eventually I stopped caring all together and just feed my baby the way that is most comfortable for us. Anthony gets distracted SO easily when nursing. He wants to see everything around him. If I had him covered, he would never nurse! He even hates when I have my short over my boobs sometimes too.

Leave a Reply

