Motherhood · Parenthood · Traveling

California Trip

We went to California to visit our families a couple weeks ago. It was probably one of the best trips we have had going back there. We made the trip a little longer this time and actually made a point to do fun things! A lot of the time when we go we end up sitting at someone’s house visiting, which is great, but we always want to do more. I always end up feeling really stressed when we go because there are so many people we want to see, but it always feels like we don’t have enough time.

So, this time around we made plans! We had a very early flight on Saturday, so we landed at the Burbank airport at 8:30am. We got our rental car, coffee/breakfast and headed to my in-law’s house. Once we got there we hung out for a little bit, then took a nice long nap!. My nephew’s 6th birthday was that evening. It was great seeing family and friends there! My half brother finally got to meet Anthony too.

We didn’t do much Sunday besides have dinner at my parent’s house.

Monday morning we went to the California Science Center with my father in-law to see the Endeavour Space Shuttle. It was a really good time! Thomas and I had never been to the Science Center before and definitely plan on going back to spend the day there. We saw some things on display that my father in-law had helped build which was really cool! He looked so proud when he was telling us about it, and made Thomas take his picture by the display.

DSCF5116[1]
We bought Anthony a Space Chimp and he talked to him the whole way to the beach
After we left the Science Center, Thomas and I took Anthony to Santa Monica! I basically grew up at that beach and was really excited to have Anthony experience a Southern California beach! The weather was absolutely perfect! It took us at least 30 minutes to find parking because the pier lot was full. Once we found parking, we headed straight for the beach! I was so excited to put my feet in the water and let Anthony play in it. He LOVED it! I held him and let the water touch him and he kept signing for “more” We played in the water for a little while then hung out on the beach for a few minutes. We didn’t have much time to hang out there because my friend and her kids were going to my in-law’s for dinner, and it takes us at least an hour and a half to get there from the beach. While at the beach, I got hit hard with nostalgia! Thomas and I used to go to the beach a lot when we first started dating. It was the first time since moving to Oregon that I actually missed living in California. That only lasted until we got stuck in crazy traffic and got back into the 100 degree weather.

DSCF5142[1]

Another fun thing I did was hang out with my best friend of 20 years, ALONE and baby FREE! It was so much fun. It had been about 3 and a 1/2 years since we hung out by ourselves with no husbands or babies. It felt really good. We went to dinner and had drinks, then got ice cream. We wanted to stay out late, get drunk and have someone come pick us up, buuuuuut my hometown is no fun and everything literally closed at 9pm. So, we ended up sitting in a McDonald’s parking lot listening to music/dancing while eating ice cream. On the way home we turned on a Spotify station that had amazing 90’s music and sang/danced until we ended up crying from laughing so hard. It was seriously amazing and I wish we could have more nights like that!

Those are just some highlights from our trip. We decided that from now on every time we go, we need to do something or go somewhere that we have never been before. We spent 25 years in California and never really explored all it has to offer. I guess we just took advantage that it would always be there when we were ready, so we never really did anything.

Leave a Reply

