Motherhood · Parenthood

Sleeping When Baby Sleeps

One of the most common things people said to me when I was pregnant was “sleep when the baby sleeps”. Now, for those of you that don’t know me, sleeping/napping is one of my favorite past times. I am PRO at taking naps. I knew going into motherhood that my relationship with sleep would change, and I can’t say I was happy about that, but I expected it. By the time Anthony was born, I was already exhausted due to my long labor. The first thing we did when we got home from the birth center was go straight to bed. Literally, we got home, set our bags by the door and got into bed. I cried as soon as I laid down. Cried because I was home. Cried because I was in my own bed. Cried because for the first time in months I laid down and was completely comfortable without having a million pillows supporting me. Then the three of us took a nap.

I always said I would sleep when the baby slept, but didn’t know if I would stick to it. Well, I did! I swear if I don’t get enough sleep, I end up getting sick, or getting headaches, or being moody. Napping with Anthony is one of my favorite things to do. We don’t always sleep together, but I just LOVE laying with him on the couch and taking a nap with him.

Yesterday he didn’t nap all day besides a quick 20 minute car ride. By the time we got home and into the house, he was angry and I knew he just needed to nap, so we laid on the couch, I stuck my boob in his mouth and he immediately fell asleep. I fell asleep right after him. It was an unexpected nap for me, but it felt so amazing. I woke up about 5 minutes before Thomas got home from work and enjoyed laying with my sleeping buddy. Once Thomas got home, I had him take our picture (even though I knew it was going to wake the baby) We don’t have enough candid shots of us together, and I love having them.

Once he woke up completely, we walked to a Mexican restaurant for dinner. I’m seriously in love with where we live. Being able to walk somewhere to get dinner is so nice.  Anthony loves being in his stroller. We honestly don’t use it much. I usually wear him in my Tula carrier unless I’m with someone else. I have these crazy fears that someone is going to run off with the stroller and my baby. It might sound crazy, but I just feel safer having him strapped to me. Plus it’s like a never ending hug, which we both love.

Leave a Reply

